



Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram ANNUAL CONVOCATION (39TH BATCH) & 6th G. PARTHASARATHI ORATION 6th May 2023

The convocation of the 39th batch of students who graduated from SCTIMST was held on May 6, 2023, at the Achutha Menon Centre of Health Sciences Auditorium, from 10.00 a.m. Dr. Sanjay Behari, Director, SCTIMST delivered the welcome address and presented a report of the activities of the institute. The heads of various departments presented their new graduands and the degrees were conferred to the graduands by Dr. Vijay Kumar Saraswat, the Hon'ble President of the institute.

About 127 graduands received their degrees from the president. The number of degrees awarded under different specialties was as follows: DM program (Cardiology / Neurology / Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anaesthesia / Neuroanaesthesia / Neuroimaging and Interventional Neuroradiology) – 27; MCh program (Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery and Neurosurgery) – 7; MD (Transfusion Medicine) – 1; Post Doctoral Fellowship (PDF) program (Adult Cardiology and Interventions / Cardiac Electrophysiology / Cerebrovascular Surgery / Electroencephalography / Epilepsy / Neuromuscular Disorders / Paediatric Cardiac Anaesthesia / Paediatric Cardiology / Skull Base Neurosurgery / Stroke) – 12; Master of Public Health – 72; MS Bioengineering – 1 & PhD – 7.

The chief guest of the function, Dr. Vinod Kumar Paul, Member, NITI Aayog, Govt. of India, delivered the convocation address. The guest of honor of the function was Dr. Rajesh S. Gokhale, Secretary, Dept. of Biotechnology, Govt. of India. Dr. Gokhale gave an impressive convocation address. Afterward, the president, chief guest, and the guest of honor were felicitated by the director by giving them mementos.

During the convocation, the members of the SCTIMST faculty who have given outstanding contributions in various areas were awarded certificates of merit and plaques. The names of the winners were declared at the convocation function by Dr. P.R. Umashankar (Associate Dean, PhD affairs). The winners were selected by committees of eminent scientists/clinicians of reputed national institutions. The name of the award and the winner for the year 2023 are given below:

• Prof. M.S. Valiathan Certificate of Merit for the Outstanding Research Investigator 2023 - Dr. Jeemon P., Associate Professor, AMCHSS.

- Certificate of Merit 2023 for outstanding achievement in the clinical specialty Dr. Narayanan Namboodiri, Professor, Department of Cardiology.
- Certificate of Merit 2023 for the Best Biomedical Technology Innovation Er. N.N. Subash, Engineer C, BMT Wing.
- Certificate of Merit 2023 for the best paper publication Ms. Rajalekshmi G.P., PhD scholar.
- Certificate of Merit 2023 for outstanding achievement in basic science research Dr. Jayasree R.S., Scientist G, BMT wing.

The certificates of merits were awarded to the faculty by the chief guest, Dr. V.K. Paul.

Certificates of Appreciation were presented to research teams who developed and transferred biomedical technologies to the industry. Certificates were also given to the technology partners. Hon'ble Guest of Honour, Dr. Rajesh Gokhale presented the certificate of appreciation to innovators and industry partners. The technologies transferred, principal investigators (PI) that led the research teams, and industry partners are given below:

- Liquid Embolic Agent for Application as a Permanent Implant Occluding the Abnormal Blood Vessels of the Brain (Technical PI: Dr. Roy Joseph; Clinical PI: Dr. Jayadevan; Technology partner: M/s. Biorad Medisys Pvt Ltd, Pune; Industry representative: Mr. Anku Sreekumar).
- Drug Eluting Bioactive Calcium Sulfate Cement (Technical PI: Dr. Manoj Komath; Clinical PI: Dr. Easwer H.V.; Technology partner: M/s. Onyx Medicals Pvt. Ltd., Meerut, UP.)
- Automatic Smart Trash Bin for Disinfection Using UV Enabled Microwave (Astra)' (Technical PI: Dr. Manoj G.S.; Clinical PI: Dr. Manikandan; Technology partner: M/s. Forsta Meditech Pvt. Ltd., Lucknow, UP).
- Infant Warming Wrapper & Bassinet' (Technical PI: Mr. Sarath S. Nair; Technology partner: M/s. Kerala State Electronics Development Corporation, (Keltron); Industry representative: Mr. Ajaya Kumar C.P., Manager & Head (Corporate Planning & Knowledge Services Group).
- Chitra SARS CoV2 Multiplex RT PCR Kit (Technical PI: Dr. Anoopkumar T., Scientist G; There were two technology partners for this product. Technology partner 1: M/s. Huwel Life Sciences, Hyderabad; Industry representative 1: Mr. Krubakaran, Director-Global Sales and Marketing; Technology partner 2: M/s. Meril Life Sciences, Ahmedabad; Industry representative 2: Mr. Raghesh V.)
- Flow Diverter Stent (Technical PI: Dr. Sujesh Sreedharan; Clinical PI: Dr. Santhosh Kannath; Technology partner: M/s. Biorad Medisys Pvt Ltd, Pune; Industry representative: Mr. Anku Sreekumar).
- Atrial Septal Defect Closure Device (Occluder) (Technical PI: Dr. Sujesh Sreedharan; Clinical PI: Dr. Bijulal; Technology partner: M/s. Biorad Medisys Pvt Ltd, Pune; Industry representative: Mr. Anku Sreekumar).

Certificates of appreciation were also presented to the faculty who have secured extramural grants of INR 5 crores and above. Dr. Lalit Dandona, G. Parthasarathi Orator, presented the certificates to the achievers. The names of faculty who were given certificates, the total project(s) cost, and the names of the funding agency are as follows:

- Shri. C.V. Muraleedharan Scientist-G (Sr. Gr.); Technical Research Centre grant from the Department of Science & Technology, Govt. of India; The total cost of the project = Rs. 93.25 crores.
- Shri. Balram, Scientist-G; Grant for Technology Business Incubator from different schemes of DST, BIRAC, and CSR grants of HDFC Bank; Total amount raised = Over INR 25 crores.
- Dr. Maya Nandkumar, Scientist-G; Grant from the Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India; Total cost of the project = INR 9.52 crores.
- Dr. Roy Joseph Scientist-G; Grant from the SEED Division, Dept. Department of Science & Technology, Govt. of India; Total cost of the projects = INR 6.12 crores.
- Dr. S. Harikrishnan, Professor; Grant from the Indian Council of Medical Research, Govt. of India; Total cost of the projects = INR 5 crores.

Certificates of appreciation were presented to two members of the faculty and a student who won the National Petrochemical Award in the year 2022, instituted by the Ministry of Chemicals and Petrochemical, Govt. of India. Dr. Roy Joseph, Ms. Gopika Gopan, and Dr. Jayadevan were the winners of the award. The certificates were presented by Dr. Lalit Dandona and were received by Dr. Jayadevan on behalf of the team.

Prof. Mohandas - Richard A. Cash merit certificate for the best outgoing Master of Public Health student was presented by Hon'ble Chief Guest, Dr. V.K. Paul to Dr. Karthi Vijay. Dr. Vijay received a merit certificate and cash award from Dr. Paul.

Dr. Amrutha Natarajan, who received her PhD degree, delivered a thanksgiving speech on behalf of the students who graduated on the day.

Sixth G. Parthasarathi Oration was also conducted along with the convocation. Dr. Lalit Dandona (Distinguished Research Professor of the Public Health Foundation of India; Professor of Health Metrics Sciences, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, University of Washington; and Honorary National Chair of Population Health, Indian Council of Medical Research) was the G. Parthasarathi Orator. An introduction Shri. G. Parthasarathi was given by Dr. Roy Joseph, Dean of Academic Affairs. The orator was introduced to the audience by Dr. P.N. Sylaja, Associate dean. Dr. Lalit Dandona was felicitated by

the dean, director, and the president. After the felicitation, Dr. Dandona gave the GP oration. The program was concluded by 2.00 p.m. with the vote of thanks of the dean.

















































